

I Press Release

Brussels, 15 October 2009

## Alessandro Barberis new EUROCHAMBRES President

Alessandro Barberis, President of the Turin Chamber of Commerce, was unanimously elected today by EUROCHAMBRES' Plenary Assembly as the new President of the Association of European Chambers of Commerce and Industry. He will take over his new function on 1 January 2010, succeeding to Pierre Simon who holds the Presidency since 2006 and who was in turn elected Honorary President.

In his speech of investiture, Mr Barberis outlined his priorities. "We need more Europe to face one of the most serious economic crisis in our history. The next few months will be crucial: immediate answers must be given on the political front without forgetting the long term goals such as responding to the increasing unemployment, defending the single market against protectionist tendencies or giving adequate support to the agreement on climate change in Copenhagen."

"The time has come for us to position EUROCHAMBRES as a strong partner at the most important tables where European and international economic relations are debated. I am strongly committed and I believe I can contribute decisively to achieving a leading role for EUROCHAMBRES in this respect."

Alessandro Barberis was born in 1937 in Turin, Italy. Since 2004 he is the President of the Turin Chamber of Commerce and, since 2008, the Vice President of the ICC – International Chamber of Commerce. Prior to that, he was Managing Director and Vice Chairman of FIAT, Italy's biggest automobile manufacturer. At present he serves as an advisor to a number of Italian companies.

A photo of Mr Barberis can be downloaded from <a href="https://www.eurochambres.eu/Content/Default.asp?PageID=1&DocID=2009">www.eurochambres.eu/Content/Default.asp?PageID=1&DocID=2009</a>

His CV can be downloaded from <a href="https://www.eurochambres.eu/Content/Default.asp?PageID=1&DocID=2010">www.eurochambres.eu/Content/Default.asp?PageID=1&DocID=2010</a>

## **New Deputy and Vice Presidents**

EUROCHAMBRES' Plenary Assembly also elected two new Deputy and five new Vice Presidents.

New Deputy Presidents: Pierre Gramegna (Luxembourg) and Rifat Hisarciklioglu (Turkey). Deputy Presidents have a two-year mandate (2010-2011).

New Vice-Presidents: Jean-François Bernardin, (France); Frank Horch (Germany); Andrzej Arendarski (Poland); Miquel Valls i Maseda (Spain); Neville Reyner CBE DL (United Kingdom). Vice-Presidents have a one-year mandate (2010).

-----

Further information: Mr Arnaldo Abruzzini, Tel. +32 2 282 08 51, <a href="mailto:abruzzini@eurochambres.eu">abruzzini@eurochambres.eu</a>
Press contact: Ms Guendalina Cominotti, Tel. +32 2 282 08 66, <a href="mailto:cominotti@eurochambres.eu">cominotti@eurochambres.eu</a>
All our press releases can be downloaded from <a href="mailto:www.eurochambres.eu/content/default.asp?PageID=153">www.eurochambres.eu/content/default.asp?PageID=153</a>

Connecting business to Europe